Scrum Alliance Announces New Certified ScrumMaster® Test Policy

Press Release

For Immediate Release:

7/23/2012 12:00:00 AM

Media Contact:

Indianapolis, IN (July 24, 2012)— The Scrum Alliance, a global professional society representing those interested in Scrum, today announced it is changing its Certified Scrum Master test from a pass-only test to a pass/fail test. The change in the test policy will become effective September 1, 2012.

“With this new test policy we will enhance the quality of our Certified ScrumMaster® credential. We think this is critical given the increasing expectations of employers who hire Certified Scrum Masters,” said Carol McEwan, Managing Director of the Scrum Alliance.

“True to the ‘inspect and adapt’ principle of Scrum, we only made the change in test policy after careful monitoring of the results of the current pass-only test” according to McEwan.

 In order to enhance the learning experience, students who pass the test will receive a list of all missed questions and a list of possible answers with the correct answer highlighted. Students who do not pass the test on the first attempt will also receive a list of missed questions and possible answers but the correct answer will not be highlighted. These students may re-take the test once more at no additional charge. Students who do not pass the test a second time will be required to pay $25 USD for each additional attempt until they achieve a passing score of 24 out of 35 questions.

About Scrum Alliance
As a global professional society, Scrum Alliance is committed to advocacy, community, and education for Scrum practitioners. Members include over 150,000 Scrum practitioners, trainers, and coaches around the world.  The Scrum Alliance’s vision is to transform the world of work and it operates as a non-profit organization. Visit for more information.
Media Contact:
Carol McEwan, Managing Director
[email protected]
Twitter: @ScrumAlliance